Attractions

  • Burt-Stark Mansion

    Address:
    Burt-Stark Mansion, North Main Street, Abbeville, SC, USA .

    The Burt-Stark Mansion, also known as Armistead Burt House, in Abbeville, South Carolina was the site of the last Council of War of cabinet members of the Confederate government. On May 2, 1865, Jefferson Davis, hoping to continue the struggle, met unanimous opposition, and realized the Confederate independence cause was lost.

    It was declared a National Historic Landmark in 1992, specifically for being where Jefferson Davis had his last council of war.

  • Abbeville Opera House

    Address:
    Abbeville Opera House, Court Square, Abbeville, SC, USA .

    The Abbeville Opera House, also known as the Abbeville Opera House and Municipal Office Building is an historic building located in Abbeville, South Carolina. Designed by William Augustus Edwards of Edwards and Wilson, it was opened in 1904 and dedicated in 1908. On July 1, 1970, it was added to the National Register of Historic Places.

    According to the South Carolina Department of Parks, Recreation and Tourism the theater has received the South Carolina Governor's Travel Award for Tourism and was designated as the Official Rural Drama State Theatre of South Carolina. It is included in the Abbeville Historic District.

  • Abbeville County Courthouse

    Address:
    Abbeville County Family Court, Court Square, Abbeville, SC, USA .

    The Abbeville County Courthouse, built in 1908, is an historic courthouse located in the east corner of Court Square, in the city of Abbeville in Abbeville County, South Carolina. It was designed in the Beaux Arts style by Darlington native William Augustus Edwards who designed several other South Carolina courthouses as well as academic buildings at 12 institutions in Florida, Georgia and South Carolina. An arcade connects it to the adjoining Abbeville Opera House and Municipal Center, which Edwards also designed. In 1964, the courthouse was renovated by Lyles, Bissett, Carlisle, and Wolff of Columbia. On October 30, 1981, it was added to the National Register of Historic Places. It is included in the Abbeville Historic District.

  • The Square

    Address:
    Court Square, Abbeville, SC, USA .

    The Square is Abbeville's functional epicenter as well as the hub of the historic district. The square provides a venue for various shops and restaurants, as well as a picturesque central park with fountains and monuments. Many historic sites are within walking distance of the Square. 

  • Diamond Hill Mine

    Address:
    59 Diamond Mine Road, Abbeville, SC, USA .

    Diamond Hill Mine is one of the premier Quartz mines in the south. Among the varieties of Quartz that can be found include the legendary Skeletal Quartz as well as Amethyst, Milky and Smokey Quartz. On occasion guests may also find Aquamarine, Garnet and Epidote. They offer guests the opportunity to experience the thrill of finding their own beautiful crystals from the earth. All crystals found at the mine are native to Diamond Hill; it is not a "salted mine'. They have an excavator dig twice a year to expose new crystals. Guests are allowed to keep everything they find. They are open 365 days a year to Rockhounds and treasure seekers. Sign in is at the mine daily from 9-12 and guests may collect until dusk. Camping is allowed but they do not have electrical or water available. Pets are allowed.

  • Trinity Episcopal Church

    Address:
    200 Church Street, Abbeville, SC, USA .

    Trinity Church is listed in the National Register of Historic Places.  From its design patterned after Gothic cathedrals to its renowned stained glass, Trinity Episcopal Church in Abbeville is an architectural wonder nestled in Upstate South Carolina. Trinity holds a virtual library of rare 19th-century American stained glass, including at least eight windows dating to the church's erection in 1859/60. The chancel window and one other window were made by William Gibson, considered the "father of stained glass painting in America". 

  • Parsons Mountain Recreation Area

    Address:
    454 Parsons Mountain Road, Abbeville, SC, USA .

    Parson’s Mountain Recreation Area features a 28-acre man-made lake next to a 23-site campground. The area offers relaxation and solitude as well as easy access to a variety of recreation activities including hiking, swimming, fishing, canoeing, kayaking, and camping, and an accessible picnic area. The day use area was designed with an earthen pier, a pedestrian bridge, and a boat ramp for non-motorized boats. The Parson’s Mountain Lake Trail and Parson’s Mountain Tower Trail have rich history and diverse wildlife habitat.